RPWDL Chapter 20

Chapter 20 – Confession

Xu Lang found that Xia Teng’s condition was getting more and more weird these days.

At this time, the news that Xia Teng won the best supporting actress also broke out.

Unlike the situation in Xu Lang’s previous life, this time there was no news of Xia Teng disrespecting the seniors. Additionally, the newly released movie《Mama》received a lot of praise.

When the result was announced, the comments on the Internet were all things such as: [ This result is totally expected ], [ If Xia Teng didn’t win the best female supporting actress, there must be something shady going on behind the scenes. ], and [ Go, beautiful young girl who likes to act as moms, your destination is to the infinity and beyond! ]

Most of the time, Xia Teng would still talk with Xu Lang about things, but this time she didn’t tell him anything when she went to the movie awards ceremony. She didn’t even tell him that she won an award.

Xu Lang frowned his brows, just what did actually happen.

Xu Lang didn’t think too deeply about why he cared so much about this issue.

erynalu

At this time, the first rank in the hot search became ‘Xia Teng and Jin Zeming’s Romantic Relationship Exposed.’

When Xu Lang saw it, he couldn’t tell what he felt, it was just at that moment, it felt as if the air surrounding him suddenly became thinner.

Connecting this information to Xia Teng’s recent behavior, Xu Lang seemed to have found the answer.

But he felt very uncomfortable. This uncomfortable feeling came from… from…

He clenched his fists, the pain brought him back to his senses, and he saw himself reflected on the computer screen that had turned off.

Anger and… jealousy?

Everything began to make sense. He, who always hated trouble, would not mind the trouble to protect Xia Teng using himself as a shield again and again. He was even willing to go to remote mountain village to find Xia Teng.

He always hated having close contact with people, but he was willing to take Xia Teng for a run, watch movies together, and let Xia Teng live in his house.

Xu Lang frowned. The more he looked at the man, the more he found it unpleasant to his eyes. If he remembered correctly, this man was already twenty-eight years old, while Xia Teng was only nineteen years old. There was a saying “there is a generation gap within three years difference,” and this was three times of that!

At this time, Xia Teng sent him a text message: [ Xu Lang, I’m going to shoot a reality show outside the town. I might not be back for a few days. ]

Xu Lang’s expression became even more ugly.

He directly called her.

It took a while for the call to be picked up, and then Xia Teng’s cautious voice was heard: “Xu Lang?”

“Are you coming back for dinner?” Xu Lang asked.

Xia Teng was stunned for a moment. Didn’t she just send him a message that she was going out of town?

After she became aware of her feelings, she felt somewhat incapable to face Xu Lang directly.

If the two people only had a simple friendship or classmate relationship, then she would have the guts to chase after him. But the reality was different. The relationship between the two was too complicated, so complicated that she was reluctant to destroy this balance.

But when Xu Lang asked her if she wanted to go back for dinner, she hurriedly answered, “Yes yes yes!”

Xu Lang’s one sentence had shattered all her original resolve.

erynalu

When Xia Teng came back, she didn’t dare to put her eyes on Xu Lang at all.

The two of them were extremely silent during the meal.

“Are you dating somebody?” After they finished eating, Xu Lang asked this question.

“No, no…” Xia Teng stammered a little, she felt very nervous, afraid that Xu Lang would discover something.

Seeing Xia Teng’s lack of confidence when answering, Xu Lang’s face sank. “Okay, I understand. I will move out when I have time.”

Xia Teng’s eyes widened, then she looked at Xu Lang with a stuffy nose. She did not expect that he would actually guess it and would be this merciless.

Xia Teng tried her best to keep her eyes open so as not to shed any tears, and the scene was even more unsightly. “It… it’s alright, I will have an out-of-town shooting.”

“…”

Xu Lang originally wanted to say something, but Xia Teng said ahead, “I’m sleepy, I’m going to bed first.”

Xu Lang sat still by himself; his eyes were gloomy. Obviously it was him who met her first.

erynalu

Xia Teng lay prone on the bed, and she finally couldn’t hold back her tears from falling down.

Her love had ended before it even started.

Xia Teng thought, it’s okay, it’s okay, I can still get more money, and give him lots of lots of money.

Because her heart felt uncomfortable, she slept early. Only the next day when she checked Weibo did she found out the scandal about she and another person in a love relationship.

Wait a minute—

Last night, Xu Lang asked me if I was in love with someone. Did he mean this news? He didn’t find out that I secretly love him!

Ahhh! I’m so stupid! He was asking about this rumor specifically and nothing else!

[*Look at TL note for info. ]

Thinking about her foolishness last night, Xia Teng first posted on Weibo: [ I’m not in a relationship, but I have someone I like, he is not in the entertainment circle, so I won’t reveal him. After all, I—this young and beautiful girl—also have a girlish heart. ]

Then she came out of her room and saw Xu Lang who had finished packing his things.

“Don’t!” Xia Teng rushed over. “Don’t go, last night I was too stupid. I’m not together with that Jin Zeming, and I don’t have anything going on with him in private. If you don’t believe me, look at my cell phone!”

Xu Lang heard this and asked, “Then you said in Weibo that you have someone you like?”

Xia Teng’s face turned red all of a sudden. She was too excited earlier, but she never thought that Xu Lang would be looking at her post!

“I…I…” Xia Teng’s head was completely blank, and she didn’t know what to say.

In fact, her heart really wanted to say that she liked him, but she also felt afraid.

“With you looking nervous like this, it makes me think that you want to confess to me.” Xu Lang gave her a meaningful glance while he said this suggestively.

“Mm.” Xia Teng lowered her head and softly acknowledged his words. She thought to herself that if she was rejected, she would say she just hemmed jokingly, there was no other meaning.

Then she was brought into an embrace. “Then I accept.”

Xia Teng exclaimed, “I was just joking!”

Xia Teng was too nervous. As soon as Xu Lang spoke, she immediately said her prepared reason. After speaking, she just realized that Xu Lang seemed to say that… he agreed?

Xia Teng’s eyes widened. “No! No! I’m serious!”

The more Xu Lang looked at her, the more he felt that with Xia Teng being like this, he had long placed her in his heart.

Unable to hold back, he kissed Xia Teng’s forehead. “I know.”

Xia Teng completely turned into a steamed prawn—her face was red and her ears were scarlet. She didn’t dare to look at Xu Lang’s face at all.


Previous Chapter | Table of Contents | Next Chapter


Translator’s Corner:
Ahhh Xia Teng is such a sweetheart! And Xu Lang is such an overbearing CEO in the making lol

Anyway, I want to explain some stuff in this chapter as I took some liberties in translating to make it flow better (in my opinion):

  • In the netizen’s comment “to infinity and beyond,” the original phrase was actually 你的征途是星球(辰)海 which means “Your conquest is the sea of stars” taken from Legend of the Galactic Heroes, but I thought the meaning is roughly the same so I chose the more widely known quote from the Toy Story.
  • The second one was the misunderstanding between Xu Lang and Xia Teng because the meaning “dating” that he used (谈恋爱) can mean multiple things, such as courting/being in love with someone, dating someone, or being in a relationship with someone.
    So in the original version, Xu Lang asked: “Are you dating (谈恋爱) someone?” Xia Teng thought Xu Lang was asking if she has anyone that she likes, hence her nervousness.
    Then later after Xia Teng realized what Xu Lang meant, she said, “Ahhh! I’m so stupid! He was asking about if I am dating someone (恋爱), not if I have anyone that I like (which what 恋爱 could also mean)!” I changed it to make sense in English.

That is all lol~ I’m just glad this misunderstanding is resolved in one chapter!


3 responses to “RPWDL Chapter 20”

  1. Yes, as I was reading this I was praying that the author wasn’t going to drag it out into two chapters lol we all know the ending but I didn’t want to wait haha
    And Chinese netizens with their references/quotes! Though if I could go around quoting Shakespeare, Wordsworth and Blake I would lol

    Thanks for the chapter and stay safe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment